English Beat: Moxley at the NSRA Hot Rod Drags

The 2019 NSRA Hot Rod Drags at Santa Pod Raceway were blessed with warm, sunny weather over the entire weekend. This was the final round of the Outlaw Anglia and Gasser Circus.

Outlaw Anglia

Scotty Crookston

Twenty-Five cars entered the final round of the 2019 Outlaw Anglia Championship.

Scotty Crookston was the points leader coming into the event, with reigning champion Colin Millar in second place and Simon Barlow third. They were the only drivers who could win the championship.

Simon Barlow

Simon Barlow ran a 7.223 (note this car has run 7.085) at 185.12 miles per hour. Barlow also ran 193.72 during qualifying.

Colin Millar

Colin Millar ran 7.286 at 189.00 and then set a new ET record of 7.243-190.60. Millar’s speed equalled the speed record.

Scotty Crookston was next at 7.487-177.85 and Steve Wells fourth with an 8.191. Newcomer Dalton Scarlett has got the ex-Mark Pointer Fordson and didn’t have the Pro-Charger fitted to the engine. Adam Cuthbert was on the bump spot 9.830.

Dalton Scarlett

Rob Nixon was first alternate for Mat Cooper. Ronnie Mercer almost took the Christmas tree out and crossed into Nixon’s lane. Barry Crookston had the same thing happen to him when he crossed into Rob Stone’s lane. Scotty Crookston beat Gary Hill. Barlow ran 192.96 against Cuthbert to back up and set a new speed record of 193.72. Millar eased pass Scarlett.

Millar beat Nixon in round two. Stone broke at mid-track against Crookston, Barlow took the winlight against Jeff Meads, and Steve Wells beat Phil Drewitt’s best run of the weekend of 9.506.

Barlow took the winlight over Wells 7.913 to 8.268 in the semi-finals.

The other semi-final was a championship decider. Crookston led from start to finish at the lights with a 7.662 to an 8.069 for Millar, and became the 2019 Outlaw Anglia Champion.

Barlow soloed to the winner’s circle after Crookston shut off in the final.

Outlaw Anglia Bracket Race

Shane Bird

This was a race for the remaining cars that entered the event.

Al O’Connor returned with his famous Al’s Gasser, rebuilt, and ran 9.948 (first nine for the car after rebuild) over Kim Harrison. Peter Jones beat Andy Cunningham.

Rob Turington

Rob Turington beat Adrian Witcombe, and Shane Bird beat Mark Bracking.

O’Connor was a no-show, so Turrington had a bye to the final where he would face Bird in the final. Shane Bird went on to win the event.

Gasser Circus

Sean Milsom

Four drivers were in the hunt for the 2019 Gassers Circus Championship.  That went down to three when Steve Matthews did a huge wheelie and damaged the car and was out of the show. Sean Milsom, Martyn Hallam and Brian Gibson were left to fight to out.

Martyn Hallam

Tim Holmes was the number one qualifier with a 10.652 (dial in 10.64), just ahead of Graham Barton 11.175 (11.16). Milsom was fifth ahead of Hallam sixth and Gibson seventh.

Brian Gibson

Gibson had a bye run into round two. Tony Pearson redlit against Hallam, and Milsom beat Nick Brooke-Langham.

A bizarre race saw Barton break off the start line against Ray Irish, who broke out at the finish. Barton took the win.

Gibson ended his championship hopes when he redlit against John Grant. Milsom beat number one qualifier Holmes and Hallam beat Ted Booth, who broke out. Barton also broke out against Ray Turner.

Ray Turner

Grant took the winlight over Turner in their semi-final.

In the other semi-final, it was the championship decider with both drivers breaking out Milsom broke the least and took the win over Hallam and the championship.

Final between Sean Milsom and John Grant (near lane)

In the final, Grant had a .001 light and led from start to finish to beat the new champion Milsom.

Super-Charged Outlaws

Super-Charged Outlaws do not run an elimination ladder.

Neil Townson

Neil Townson ran a personal best of 7.367 at 194.72. Andy Hadfield ran 7.614-178. Tony Underhill had a great launch but his motor blew at mid-track and he finished with a 7.821-125.

Christian Zulauf

Christian Zulauf pulled some great wheelies and eventually damaged his wheelie bar, and ran a best of 7.28-167. Aaron Windridge went 7.917.

Roy Wilding

Roy Wilding was driving the restored altered driven in the ‘80s by Sue Coles and dipped into the sevens with a 7.927.

Des Taylor

Des Taylor ran his first seven in his altered at 7.982. Keith Freeman ran his first nine 9.974 and Jeff Hawksworth debuted his new slingshot and ran a best of 10.023-145. Bill MacDermid did two huge wheelies off the start line and damaged his sump.

In the pits was a stunning new slingshot constructed and built by twenty year-old Luke Felstead. His father Bill assisted in the build.

The engine block is out of a marine boat and is Iron with alloy cylinder heads. It has a Crower Glide direct drive with a Lenco reverser. Luke and Bill made the alloy body panels and Luke sprayed the Cornist Cream paint.

story and photos by Steven Moxley

, , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply